Formal examinations are the only effective way to assess a student's performance. Continual assessment such as coursework and projects is not satisfactory way to do this. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is sometimes argued that examinations are the best academic assessment for students’ performance. In my opinion, I partially agree because exams are not the only or best way to assess students.

Admittedly, exams are an effective tool for conducting thorough knowledge checks. They illustrate how students’ learning has progressed, so uniformity is required to provide a standardized way to measure the progress of multiple students. For example, all students will take the same test under similar conditions, allowing educational institutions to conduct further analyses based on another test, this method also promotes fairness among the contestants. Furthermore, with a wide range of topics in the test, this type of assessment offers a comprehensive overview of students’ knowledge for the entire semester or just after a single lesson.

On the other hand, formal exams have limitations; they encourage a focus on memorization rather than deep understanding, which can mislead teachers about students’ true abilities.