Formal examinations are the only effective way to assess a student's performance. Continual assessment such as coursework and projects is not satisfactory way to do this. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is argued that standardized exams are the best academic assessment, reflecting students’ abilities more accurately than continuous assessment. In my opinion, I partly disagree with this statement, as both forms offer different pros and cons that cannot be replaced by the other.

Admittedly, there are good reasons why formal exams are widely used in academic settings. The first reason is the fairness and objectivity of these tests. Continuous assessment is designed and graded by the teachers in charge of the course. Consequently, it is prone to biases aligned with teachers’ and students’ interests. It is worth noting that a high pass ratio may create a false impression of the teacher’s capabilities. The second reason is that standardized tests have clear grading criteria and comparable results. Take the university entrance exam, for example. Millions of students have to answer the same set of questions, allowing educational institutions to compare two or more test-takers accurately. Thanks to the aforementioned advantages, formal exams are well-suited for highly competitive scenarios where the end result determines admission and employment.

On the other hand, in-course assessment still plays an integral part in the grading system. Firstly, this type of assessment offers a more comprehensive overview of students’ strengths and weaknesses. Because the student is assessed throughout the course, all assignments, modules, and subjects are scored and accompanied by the teacher’s feedback. Secondly, formal exams are stressful, resulting in undue pressure and hindering students’ long-term learning. This is because students and teachers tend to focus excessively on preparing specific content and question types that appear in the question bank. Understandably, once the exam is over, all the knowledge and skills geared towards academic success are soon forgotten. All things considered, continuous assessment is a better choice for workshops, tutoring, and quick evaluation for both students and teachers to track progress over time.

In conclusion, both formal exams and continual assessment have unique advantages and disadvantages and can be used for certain purposes. Therefore, it is unreasonable to state the former is the only effective form of evaluation.