formal exams are used to assess students at the end of each semester in many Countries. why are these exams used by schools or universities.

Nowadays, educational institutions all over the world use tests to determine studentsʼ knowledge at the end of each academic term. The reason for conducting examinations is that not only universities but also schools can detect studentʼs weak points and prepare flexible programs for them. Furthermore, as education becomes modernized day by day, there are many ways of assessing students, such as projects, presentations, and portfolios, instead of using tests, which are an old form of assessment.

In today’s world, every domain of education relies on actual tests to examine students’ levels and to prepare appropriate systems for improving their knowledge and strengthening their weak points. For example, at universities, after departments announce the scores of each student, they will change some old methods for the students who failed, implementing enhancements to teach them properly. In addition, it helps tutors to know about the level of teenagers who are graduating the semester.

However, exams are not only way to determine studentsʼ scores as at present, teachers assign tasks, like making presentations, portfolios or some projects that are related to majors. On the one hand, these tasks provide educational institutions with the opportunity to assess teenagers’ creativity, skills, and abilities, which cannot be detected by tests, as well as their scores. Therefore, most teachers at both school and university are using these techniques.

In conclusion, taking everything into consideration through testing tutors can assess students and will find which kind of materials they can use for teaching in the next semesters. On the other hand, educational system has additional methods to determine studentsʼ skills as well as their knowledge.