Fossil fuel is the main source of energy. In some countries, the use of alternative sources of energy is encouraged. Is this a positive or negative development?

Fossil fuel is the primary power resource. A host of countries are promoting the use of sustainable power sources. This essay attempts to shed light on the merits and demerits of this tendency before concluding this is indeed an encouraging development.

On the one hand, transfering to power generated from renewable sources could be fraught with pitfalls. Firstly, eco-friendly energy sources such as solar energy or wind energy are intermittent. Given that this depends on the natural situation, their availability can fluctuate, leading to potential challenges in ensuring a consistent energy supply. Secondly, the enormous cost incurred to develop renewable energy could put a strain on government coffers. This could lead to budget deficits, tax hikes, and reduced social welfare, which could force ordinary citizens, especially the underprivileged, to struggle even more to make ends meet.

On the other hand, there are a host of compelling reasons as to why I am convinced that using environmentally-friendly energy sources is indeed a beneficial advancement. One rationale is that this action could help minimize detrimental effects on the environment. It is clear that green power generates less carbon footprint compared to carbon-intensive energy, which is its exploitation could create a massive exhaust emissions, leading to deterioration of environmental quality. Another justification is that renewables could foster the domestic economy. For instance, in some nations, investing in green energy can drive technology and create new job opportunities, contributing to economic growth and stability.

In conclusion, while it is irrefutable that there are a variety of restrictions in developing greener substitutes,I would contend that the upside of renewable energy sources is far more significant than their downside.