Fossil fuel is the main source of energy. In some countries, the use of alternative sources of energy is encouraged. Is this a positive or negative development?

It is widely observed that fossil fuels are viewed as the primary contributor to manufacturing, business practices, and transportation. Due to their detrimental impacts on the environment, multiple parts of the world are embracing the switch from these sources to greener forms of energy. While recognizing the significant drawbacks of this transition, I am of the opinion that the benefits stemming from this environmentally friendly source of energy are far greater.

Admittedly, those who oppose renewable energy can cite their worries. Firstly, renewables can be prohibitively expensive in production and storage. To them, these greener sources are out of reach for underdeveloped countries, particularly in Africa, as individuals in those nations often face poverty, unemployment, or famine, leading to their inability to invest in alternative energy. In addition, this type of energy seems infeasible in areas where the availability and accessibility of these environmentally harmless sources are sadly lacking. This can be seen in some remote regions in which there is often a shortage of wind to generate electricity. Similarly, places where there exists no summer fail to make use of solar panels to produce electricity.

However, despite the setbacks, I strongly feel that much of the world advocates for these unpolluted sources. Firstly, such clean sources of energy could mitigate adverse impacts on the natural surroundings. Unlike fossil fuels that emit excessive amounts of CO2 emissions into the atmosphere, contributing to global warming, green energy releases much fewer greenhouse gases, resulting in a lower carbon footprint as well as improved environmental conservation. As a result, the more alternative energy people use, the cleaner the environment becomes. Aside from this, turning to this greener substitute, humans can utilize these sources endlessly. The reason lies in the fact that energy, for example, in the form of sunlight, water, or wind tends to be practically infinite. Hence, human beings can take advantage of these in manufacturing, businesses, or even transportation without considering whether they can run out or not.

In conclusion, although switching from fossil fuels to renewables can yield a number of unfavorable outcomes, I maintain that the downsides pale in comparison with the upsides, such as bringing about environmental improvements and unlimited usage.