Friendships that take place online are not as meaningful as those where people meet each other face to face. Do you Agree or Disagree?

It is common belief people would prefer to make new friends through social media rather than meet each other face to face because of creating meaningful friendships. From my perspective, I believe that they are both suitable for different individuals with distinct aspects.

Admittedly, friendships that take place online harmonize with introverted people who are facing difficulty when communicating directly with strangers. These people, being inhibited to use body languages and express personal emotions, are capable of representing characteristics through online platforms without restraint. The assistance of developing internet networks and a variety of assisted tools put people at ease to cement a meaningful friendship than any other means of communication. One might argue that making friends by meeting face-to-face has been the solid way to create memorable moments, but I am convinced that they approach no appropriate outcomes in a period of technological development, hence introverted people will not hesitate to talk with friends without the emotional barriers.

On the other hand, the lack of contact directly in making friends online may translate into more misunderstandings in conversations compared to the offline way. This means that the dissimilarity in how to deliver the communication content through message or the distinction in interpretation can even lead to mutual arguments. In fact, friendships that take place face-to-face can provide deep insight in building bridges, which can effortlessly become closer without any confusion. The offline friendships not only shorten the geographical distance between people who live far away from each other but also express the emotions that cannot be voiced verbally . Therefore, this sheds light on why the friendships that are made through meeting offline create contacts that reflect the personal emotions truthfully.

In summary, since direct and indirect connections are equally crucial in maintaining meaningful friendships, I strongly believe that comparing friendships that take place online and those where people meet face-to-face is inappropriate since each of them is of great importance và suitable for different types of individual’s characteristics.