Friendships that take place online are not as meaningful as those where people meet each other face to face. Do you Agree or Disagree?

While the proliferation of social platforms enables people to have more opportunities to interact with each other from diverse backgrounds, it is usually believed that online friendships are not meaningful in comparison with in-person friendships. From my perspective, I wholeheartedly agree with this point of view.

On the one hand, it is irrefutable that having face-to-face friendships can have a truly meaningful relationship. First and foremost, in-person friendships provide individuals with a safe environment to express emotions and have direct bonding. These could range from having physical touch to establishing actual interactions. As a result, dolphin endorphin hormone is created through these activities, which elevates mood and fosters attachment among people, will lead to the sense of trust. A typical example of this is that a single person speaking directly with their friends with the body language and eye contact on a daily basis can be easily found in daily life rather than through the Internet.

On the other hand, there is no denying that online friendships are not as vitally important as the former relationship since people tend to hide their true emotions and thoughts when talking on the Internet. Especially when technology develops at an unprecedented rate, making friends online as part of a scheme to steal personal information and commit fraud has become more common. This comes down to the fact that individuals not only lose friends but their mental health and assets are also affected seriously.

To sum up, for the reasons I mentioned before, I opine that people meeting each other face-to-face is considered as the most reliable relationship; however, it is up to each individual’s curriculum to choose the way to add someone as a friend and make friends for what.