Genetic engineering and modification of food crops has become increasingly common in many countries. Do the advantages of genetically modified food outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, the development of genetic engineering make it possible to correct human genes. While this trend confers certain merits in solving health problems, it is not without demerits. From my point of view, benefits prevail drawbacks for several key reasons.

Of the benefits of the trend, a possibility to refine individuals’ well-being stands out as being the fundamental one. This is because with improvements in genetic science genes, which carry illnesses, can be deleted. It plays a crucial role, in particular, in preventing genetic diseases such as autism. Today, state-of-the-art technologies are already protecting newborns from different diseases, which help to bring more healthy generation. Another positive aspect occurs in agriculture. To elaborate, new opportunities of genetic engineering allow to modify plants structure, making them ınvulnerable to pets and resilent to climate changes. This is very beneficial, because it can contribute to a successful harvests and solve world famine. To illustrate, it can resume agriculture in a barren lands of some African countries and provide their residents with a perminant food products.

As for the drawbacks, the technical side is the most commonly cited one. Reconstruction of genes in human bodies is very complicated work and obligate a huge responsibility to its specialists. Therefore, mistakes are likely to lead to a serious consequences. One more demerit is incompleteness of study in this field. As this science is relatively new, we are the first generation, who are able to experience genetic modification in medicine and agriculture. That’s why the consequences of the interferance to the nature are not fully studied and may have negative effects in the future.

To sum up, advancements in genetic engineering can improve people’s well-being and farming conditions. While this shift offers such desirable aspects as prevention of genetic diseases and good harvest, its undesirable aspects are risk to damage other genes and lack of researches about the consequences.