Genetic engineering and modification of food crops has become increasingly common in many countries. Do the advantages of genetically modified food outweigh the disadvantages?

In the contemporary world, due to the population growth and high demand of food, the trend of genetically modifying crops has become increasingly common. The question of whether the advantages of such process outweigh its disadvantages therefore has become a considerable debate. In my opinion, although modification brings mass production, I believe that the long terms effects on public health and environment are more serious.

One of the major issues that a modified food could bring is the serious public health risk. Generally, genetic engineering of food involves changing the natural formation of food crops. When the natural process is disturbed, essential nutrients such as vitamins, magnesium, and other minerals available in the food is modified. Consuming such food on a regular basic may result in health risk of malnutrition, certain allergies, and sometimes leading to cancer as well.

Furthermore, the threat this brings on environment is also significant. Environmental pollution and imbalance in the eco-system could be the major issues on this regard. For example, if a large number of crops are modified, animals who survive on such plants might be affected as their main source is food is being destroyed. Moreover, modification of food also involves greenhouse gas emission resulting in air pollution.

However, it also needs to be acknowledged that modification of food crops help in large production of food, helping to sustain with the growing population in the recent world. Governments therefore can introduce efficient rules and regulations on policy formation of such foods.

In conclusion, it is true that there might be some benefits of GM food, but the long term effects of this is quite significant in the modern world.