Genetic engineering is a dangerous trend. It should be limited. To what extent do you agree?

Over the last century, exceptional advances have been noticed in the sphere of genetic modifying. Scientists now have the ability to utilize genes for a range of purposes, starting from enhancing humans’ immune system to experimenting with agriculture. However, the questions about its consequences are complex. In this essay, I will examine both perspectives and present my viewpoint.

Firstly, DNA technologies provide solution for almost any issue in the world. In fact, genetic engineering has brought about certain benefits in agriculture, for example, scientists developing and growing new fruits and vegetables faster than usual. Moreover, genetic modification in agriculture helped to tackle issues like drought by creating resistant plants that require fewer environmental resources, such as water and fertilizer. As for the impact of genetic engineering on healthcare, it provides with ability to help people with the hereditary disorders before it appears.

On the other hand, despite these advantages, there are some aspects which require consideration. As well as social and personal risks, scientists claim gene therapy is still unpredictable. Not only that, it could lead to eradication of weeds, which many insects depend on. Furthermore, using GMO often leads to allergic reactions and sometimes even cancer.

To sum up, I personally believe positive sides of genetic engineering can overweight drawbacks. However, due to its danger, we must eliminate uncertain surgeries and set strict rules for humanity’s safety.