Genetic engineering is a dangerous trend. It should be limited. To what extent do you agree?

Some people claim that genetic modification is rather risky and people should restrict using it. Even though genetic manipulation has proved itself to be a promising field, I agree that people should restrain its applications.

Genetic engineering is a new field of science but it has changed every aspect of human life. This can be exemplified by the fact agriculture has now changed completely due to the genetic alteration of plants. Guavas with no seeds, yellow watermelons, or apples that taste like grapes are becoming more popular among the citizens. Some even go as far as claiming that these genetically modified fruits are more nutritious than their normal counterparts.

However, there is no proof of such claim. Scientists can neither prove that genetically mutated fruit is safe for human consumption nor they are better for humans. Most of the time, these are just hoaxes made up by farmers to make a profit. Additionally, the process of altering the genetic structure of an organism is extremely unpredictable and it can go wrong in many ways. For example, doctors use gene therapy as a way to treat cancer but this type of treatment has a low success rate. This is because the cancerous cells instead of being weakened might evolve into a new cancer type that is immune to any current medicine.

In conclusion, while genetic engineering holds immense potential to address pressing global challenges, it is essential to proceed with caution and prioritize ethical considerations, rigorous scientific inquiry, and public engagement.