Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words. In the past, when students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country. Nowadays, they have more opportunity to study abroad. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development? You should use your own ideas, knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence.

Nowadays, many individuals would acknowledge the fact that in the past, when students embarked on the university path, they tended to study in their own country, whereas in recent years, it is often preferred to study abroad, due to the increased opportunities that the modern world offers. Studying overseas is easily one of the best paths in order to career success. However, as it has both advantages and disadvantages, in the next paragraphs I will present my personal opinion.

First and foremost,the advantages of studying abroad highly influence the career of students and their future job perspectives. Universities that provide courses for international students are getting more and more popular, since they offer many incentives, for instance: generous scholarships, renowned and demanding professors and profoundly challenging courses. Furthermore, a decorated academic path is well appreciated by the job market.

Nevertheless, many disadvantages may occur because pursuing an international career is not without its challenges. One of the hardest challenges is the loneliness that stems from the prolonged distance from one’s family. Detaching from one’s own home could be even harder than attending prestigious courses abroad. However this is quite avoidable since activities such as playing sports or hanging out with friends could easily help to overcome that uncomfortable situation.

Taking all of that into consideration, I firmly state that pursuing an international degree is arguably one of the best methods to follow in order to strengthen one’s own cultural experience. Not only does it provide many positive aspects, but it also helps as far as personal growth is concerned, since the previously mentioned loneliness is a personal hurdle that is surmountable by following that path.