Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Access to clean water is a basic human right. Therefore, every home should have a water supply that is provided free of charge. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Some people need clean water, and providing every home with water free of charge, as this statement suggests, can lead to economic drawbacks. However, I disagree with this statement, as the government needs to implement controls on water usage and also introduce policies to stabilize the economy, because the government still needs income and resources for water maintenance.

Firstly, each person has basic human rights, but providing water for each person requires money and cannot be free. In addition, it’s okay for them to drill in their gardens to reach water sources; moreover, if they want water from the government, they need to pay for the maintenance required to distribute the water to customers’ homes. For example, in Indonesia, there is PDAM, a government-owned company that distributes water. This company needs to pay its employees for maintenance, and if the people receive water free of charge, this can have negative effects like layoffs and also prevent the water provider from contributing to government revenue and increasing the country’s income.

Secondly, clean water from the source requires vehicles, pipes, and other infrastructure to distribute it. In addition, they need employees to control and maintain the structure to provide comfort to customers. For instance, workers need to go around the water distribution lines to control and report on their condition. This way, if there is any emergency, the company can resolve the problem.

All in all, from this essay, it’s okay to support the idea of basic human rights, but if they need clean water, they have two options: one, use the facility from the government and pay the required payment, and two, use boreholes to reach the water.