Globalization has made the world a better place to live in. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Over the decades, globalization has changed the world significantly, with a better outlook on the world system. I admit that it has a negative influence on our society and contributes to the loss of culture. On the other hand, this trend upgrades the interconnectedness among the regions and paves the way to access our necessities from small commodities to cultural exchanges.

Nowadays, most countries take advantage of globalization, while others are suffering from this change. Thus, not everyone has been benefiting equally; wealth is unfairly distributed, and the gap between citizens is widening. Since mostly affluent individuals benefit from this trend, while families from underprivileged backgrounds are considered “losers” of globalization. In addition, this may homogenize the world’s culture, meaning it comes with their new foods, trends, and traditions as well. As a result, this habit can cause the disappearance of cultural identities.

Nevertheless, in terms of cultural globalization, these economic ties can give various opportunities to individuals, resulting in the development of cultural exchanges and enhancing the scale of cross-border trade. Through these opportunities, society is provided with more services, including travel. They can travel abroad whenever they want, thanks to such a service, for example, Online Travel Agencies (OTAs)–a platform for comparing and booking flights. Due to a border trade of commodities, we can find Coffe cultivated in Ethiopia, despite being located thousands of miles from there. Or Avocado, which is planted with tropical temperatures in Mexico, we can find it even in cold-weather countries because of globalization.

Technologically, it makes the way for a range of devices and machinery in every country. For example, China’s Belt and Road Initiative generates opportunities to utilize robotic and electronic devices. Clear examples can be customized hands and chips that roam almost everywhere. Moreover, globalization has brought access to local manufacturing machines; for example, Germany’s CLAAS company is providing dozens of countries with its developed tractors. Thus, this harvesting machinery leads to more sustainable and inclusive consumption and production in agriculture, due to technological globalization.

In conclusion, globalization has reshaped the way we live over the decades. That is, there are its own advantages and drawbacks in it. Yet I believed that the positive sides of globalization far outweigh the adverse sides.