Going overseas for university study is an exciting prospect for many people. But while it may offer some advantages, it is probably better to stay home because of the difficulties a student inevitably encounters living and studying in a different culture. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer.

In real life, education and culture are two aspects that can define ourselves as a human being. People should have the courage and ambition to develop themselves by always aiming for higher education such as studying overseas. However, some of them prefer to just stay in their hometowns because of the cultural barriers. For me, cultural barriers are not things that people should fear about, and I strongly agree that studying overseas can bring a huge prospect for students in the future.

The challenge for some people to study overseas are mostly related to the cultural aspects. They find it hard to adapt in facing different language and habits. Another reason is the fear to deal with discrimination that might happen in the future. Hence, not being accepted in a certain community is just a nightmare for international students.

However, why don’t we look at the ‘bright side’ of it? For students with high ambitions to study abroad, those challenges could be easily solved by focusing on the possible advantages. Studying overseas definitely would be good for students’ development. Facing cultural barriers can be one of methods to gain knowledge that significantly will impact on academic growth. For instance, international students that take language (French; concrete example) as their majors can easily expertise their fields by always using the foreign language as a way to practice.

In conclusion, cultural aspects can be a nightmare for people that have difficulties adapting in society and fear to face with the possible discrimination. However, for me, there are a lot more positives that students can take in studying abroad. Thus, I do believe that we should not limit ourselves in getting a better education and take the cultural barriers as a medium for students to gain more knowledge.