Government alone cannot be expected to solve environmental problems. It is also the responsibility of businesses and individuals to help. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, environmental damage has occurred in many places around the globe, and obligated to solve the problem. However, there is contention related to who has the responsibility to solve the environmental problems as it is the big one. While some people believe that this is only the government’s responsibility, I contend that industrial businesses and individuals can also contribute to overcoming this problem.

On the one hand, it is crucial to acknowledge that businesses and individuals contribute to environmental problems. Excessive home and industrial waste, deforestation, and massive search for natural resources are examples of destructive actions that are caused by human activities and happen continuously. Consequently, long-term effects such as water and air pollution, as well as global warming will be difficult to overcome because these activities are related to human needs.

On the other hand, it does not mean that the problem can not be solved, collaboration between the government, businesses, and individuals is key to diminishing environmental problems. First of all, the government can regulate business activities that might have negative effects on the environment. Chemical industries, for example, should create certain areas to treat their waste as being more environmentally friendly before released, and thus it does not pollute the environment. Secondly, the government can encourage people to use organic materials such as plant-based bags and organic fertilizers that are easier to degrade than plastic or chemical products, so that water or land pollution will be reduced. Lastly, the government itself can collaborate with scientists to invent new technology that can replace the old ones, such as replacing fossil fuel-based vehicles with zero-emission ones.

In conclusion, although there is no silver bullet to solve this big problem, collaboration is key to minimise the negative effects of environmental damage.