Government investment in sports is a waste of money. Government must invest this money in public services instead. To what extent you agree/disagree.

The government spends a lot of money on the development of sports which is useless as considered by many people. There are people who feel that this money should be invested in the public interest instead. I personally feel that the money spend on developing sports facilities is not a wastage, which I will discuss in further paragraph.

Firstly, the development of department of sports will motivate the athletes in choosing physical activities as a career option. Secondly, the medals won on international grounds not only bring the pride to the country but also enhance the global relationships. These kinds of championships also highlight the athlete’s professional profile giving them exposure to the world. For example, Neeraj Chopra, who belongs to a very small village in Haryana, but is renowned athlete worldwide for his javelin throw awards.

Additionally, the development of the department will also enhance the physical development of the citizens of a country. This will indeed lead to better lifestyle. Playing games does not only enhance physical growth but also enhances the mental growth. For an instance, India is a country which celebrates Yoga Day, that highlights the importance of physical and mental health.

In conclusion, considering so many benefits such as international fame to the country as well as the to the athlete, we can say that the investment in the development of a physical activities is definitely beneficial.