Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Governments must invest this money in public services instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Some people believe that the government is spending a lot of money on arts and it is useless, whereas the money could be used in other sectors. I completely disagree with this statement because artists should be respected while investing money on arts could have returns too.

To begin with, artists work very determined and dedicated in order to receive appreciation from their audience. Therefore, it is very important to respect them by providing appropriate facilities. Additionally, such facilities can boost their effort and can even lead to global recognition. For instance, back in 2010 the government of India approved a scheme which is usually a stipend of 10,000 granted for them every year in order to appreciate and promote them. Subsequently, such encouragements make youngsters work upon their passion.

People always think that artists generally cannot contribute to the nation. But such a perspective is entirely wrong because their works could gain popularity all over the world. Moreover, their art can be displayed at a higher price which contributes to the economy. To put it differently, artists can generate more income when compared to other fields because of their popularity. For example, a theatrical drama “The Sorrow” showcased the hardships of farmers and was popular in 2019 in many countries. There were several viewers for this show, and surprisingly some visitors visited India to see this play, and it was acclaimed as the best theatrical drama in 2019.

To sum up, some people believe that it is a waste of money spending on arts, but this notion is not true. Government should ensure that they get appropriate financial support because their work should be respected. If appropriately giving them aid leads to higher income.