Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Governments must invest this money in public services instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is often argued that the government should finance public services instead of arts, music, and theatre. Although I agree that the government’s investments in public services play an important role, I believe that proper funding of the arts sector is also crucial for society.

On the one hand, the government should definitely allocate a large part of its budget to public services, because this economic sector determines the quality of life, ensuring some basic services such as healthcare, education, and transportation. Without proper funding, citizens may struggle to access basic necessities like hospitals and schools. For example, countries with weak healthcare systems often face higher mortality rates. Therefore, funding public services should be a top priority.

On the other hand, artisans and musicians are not curing diseases or building houses, so their role is secondary. In other words, music, arts, and theatre are not a waste of money, since they are an integral part of society’s cultural and intellectual development and amusement. Music, arts, and theatre can inspire people and encourage creativity. Quite often, a single drawing or piece of song can exhort myriads of people to reconsider their attitude towards some situation. This way, arts serve as a major source of a nation’s personal and intellectual development. Moreover, visiting museums, watching movies, and listening to music are common ways of relaxation and entertainment. Thus, the art sector is also important for society and shouldn’t be neglected.

To conclude, though I agree that the government should allocate a large part of its budget to public services, I think that art, music, and theatre should also be financed since they play a crucial role in people’s development and development.