Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Governments must invest this money in public services instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It’s important to think about how the government spends its money. Some people think they should spend it on public services. However, others may argue that they should spend on art. In my personal opinion, I think art is essential for humans as a public service.

First, the arts are as important to life as are other services provided by the government. This is because different art forms and styles such as music, which help ease the stress of the painting, are colorful allowing us to immerse ourselves in the colorful world in the painting itself. Furthermore, a good work of art is a sign of the level of civilization and creativity, the people of the country. It can be said that it reflects the nature of the country.

Second, if the country does not have art, it shows that its people are not creative and lack the basic instincts of human nature. On the other hand, no one can deny the importance of the public services. The government must allocate the part of its funding to public services such as strengthening basic education, the health care system and the country’s infrastructure. But if all spending goes to public services, it will cause an imbalance in the country’s structure, and taxpayers will be angry because old tax money is only spent in one way.

In conclusion, it can be reiterated that the government is responsible for allocating part of the money to public services, while the rest go to creative field such as the arts. This is intended to create a more balanced society.