Government needs to spend money to encourage the development of sport and art for school students, rather than to support proffesional sports and art events . Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, government spending is usually focused on sponsoring professional sports and art events for the public; however, some think that these finances should be spent more wisely, such as providing opportunities for children to take part in sports and art activities in school. I partly agree that the younger generation should have all the advantages and privileges to participate in the fields they love, though professional sportsmen who already represent the country on the international level should not be entirely limited.

Children are the future foundation of the country and should have an environment where they can fully achieve their potential. It is widely known that athletes who already participate at a high level have trained since childhood. This means that the skill of adult professionals depends on the training they have received since childhood. Consequently, if we improve the way we teach children, it will lead to better results for professionals in the future. Moreover, it is easier to teach people from childhood because their ability to learn is more advanced. For instance, the French government started building a huge number of sports facilities years ago, and they have seen many results, such as 2nd place at the 2022 World Cup and 2nd place at the 2024 Basketball Olympics.

On the other hand, art exhibitions and sponsorship for professional athletes cannot be cut down. The results of investments into children’s development will be seen only in 5-10 years. So, if we invest all income into child development, there will be no one to represent our country currently, leading to a loss of authority. For example, the Chinese government has invested billions in the development of sports facilities and has flourished on the international stage for several years before success.

In conclusion, I partly agree that governments should allocate more funding to children’s sports and art activities, as this investment brings long-term benefits to society and helps develop future professionals. Nevertheless, financial support for professional sports and art events should not be neglected because they play an important role in representing the country and inspiring younger generations