Government should spend money on railways rather than roads

Some people argue that more money should be spent on improving railways instead of roads. While most of the people use roads as their daily means of transport, I agree that a certain proportion of government funds should be allocated for the development of railways.

Firstly, a large number of people travel on trains to destinations that are far away from the starting point. This means that the duration of the journey will be longer and would require additional facilites that cater to the requirements of the passengers. For instance, hygiene facilities like washrooms and other facilities like cafes, on trains and at stations will ensure that the journey is more convenient for the people. Additionally, an increase in the number of facilities would result in a proportional increase in the number of people and resources directed to maintain these facilities in good condition. For example, setting up a cafe at a railway station will require chefs, part-time workers, waiters and cleaning staff in addition to the ingredients needed for cooking.

Furthermore, ensuring that the trains and railway tracks are in the best condition is essential since a single accident can result in a large number of casualities. Every year, a large number of train accidents occur as a result of poor maintenance of the tracks and trains. Atleast a third of these can be prevented if adequate measures are taken for monitoring and repairing damages.

In conclusion, adequate amount of money should be spend on railways rather than on roads. Allocation of funds for maintenance of railways and introduction of the necessary facilities will make the travel safe and confortable for the passengers.