Government should spend money on railways rather than roads

The state should allocate more funds to build and reconstruct railways than roads. Personally, I totally agree with this view because trains are environmentally friendly and people greatly benefit from them.

One reason why I agree with this view is that railways are likely to reduce greenhouse emissions and provide renewable energy. In order to run, many vehicles now burn petroleum-based products in their internal combustion engines that emit an excessive amount of exhaust fumes, and this is why they are the main contributor to toxic gas production. However, most railway vehicles use electricity to work, either underground or on the ground. In addition, many of them can produce renewable energy from the wind that they create or from solar cells on their roofs. Therefore, governments should spend more money to improve railway systems to reduce toxic gases and create new power systems.

Furthermore, railway transport can help residents easily reach their destination on time. This is because trains generally adhere to strict schedules, arriving at their destinations on time, and this predictability reduces waiting times for passengers. If someone misses a train, they often only need to wait a short period (e.g., 5 minutes in Japan) for the next one, minimizing delays in reaching their destination. Additionally, individuals may walk for several minutes to reach the railway station, which means that after such little physical activity, they tend to feel healthier and reduce stress. As a result, they work more efficiently with better mood throughout the day.

In conclusion, it seems to me that officials should allocate more money to enhance railway systems because of their significant benefits to the environment and individuals.