Government should spend money to encourage the development of sports and art activities for school students, rather than supporting professional sports and art performances for the general public. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that the government budget should be invested in sports and artistic activities for students in schools, instead of being spent on professional sports events and artistic performances for the public. In my opinion, I completely disagree with this statement because each of these two investments is important in its own way.

On the one hand, investments in professional sporting and artistic events offer the government and individuals manifold benefits. For one, organizing and bidding for world-renowned sports leagues, such as the World Cup, the Olympics, or the Sea Games, and some special art exhibitions would probably attract visitors from different parts of the world, thus increasing revenues for travel agencies and contributing to the development of the host country’s tourism industry in general. Moreover, the increased volume of international tourists could give rise to the burgeoning of services in the host venues, such as accommodation, restaurants, and souvenirs, thus creating employment opportunities for the locals.

Beyond economic significance, sports and artistic programs are effective ways that help people relax and reduce anxiety after work. Currently, there are a variety of cultural performances and sports competitions happening all over the world, and these fascinate thousands of young people as well as adults. While these cultural festivals can enrich people’s minds and spread our rich culture globally, athletic events can inspire young people to pursue sports and healthier lifestyles.

In conclusion, investing in sports and arts events for the public can bring various benefits for both economic growth and emotional health in society.