Government spend mony on railways rather than road. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

It is argued that the government should allocate their funding to railways instead of roads. I firmly agree with this statement because it is environmentally friendly and better for people in many ways.

Firstly, building railways can reduce the impact of pollution in the environment. As modern trains are electrical, less amount of fuel is required to keep them moving. As it is a faster and more convenient mode of transport, people will stop using private cars for long journeys which will also reduce fuel consumption. Hence, this eliminates the carbon footprint in the atmosphere, therefore leading to the eradication of global warming. A recent study concluded that New Delhi, a metropolitan city, has lowered the pollution rate in the area with the introduction of metro trains which use electricity as their source of power.

Secondly, trains are deemed to be much more convenient for human beings. People can reach faster to their desired locations without experiencing the traffic on the road. Moreover, railway transports are cost-efficient. The tickets are very cheap and people don’t have to spend on their fuel charges on private vehicles since they can access the railway transport which saves them a lot of money. For instance, residents in Luxembourg have tried to minimize the use of private cars with the establishment of trams which are way cheaper than that of the fuel rates in the country and are much more easily accessible.

To conclude, I strongly agree that authorities should invest their funds in railways rather than roads, considering the positive effects on the environment and the convenience of mankind in various ways.