Government spend mony on railways rather than road. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Governments want to ensure that they provide a safe and fast mode of transportation for their citizens and businesses. Thus, many express their view that governments should prioritize railways over roads. I concur with this statement, and my reasons will be explained in this essay.

First, railways are safe both for citizens and merchants. The number of road accidents and highway casualties in many countries is far higher than that of railway accidents. Thus, investing in a safer mode of transportation that is also fast is much more prudent for any government. It is also an efficient mode of transport as rails can carry hundreds of people and tonnes of goods at a time, while road transport is not built for that. As an example, some shuttle trains are many times faster than private cars and public buses, while also carrying a much higher number of passengers at a time. Thus, improved railways would save valuable time while offering a safe mode of commuting for societies and businesses.

Moreover, modern rails are more environmentally friendly and run by green energy like solar power and electricity, while road vehicles burn fossil fuels and cause harm to the environment. Considering environmental benefits, governments should invest more in railways rather than roads. For instance, many developing countries in Europe built more railways as a viable solution to reduce carbon emissions.

In conclusion, I believe that a government, either in a developing or a developed country, should invest in building a safer, faster, greener, and more reliable mode of transportation system, and the railways, for this reason, should get an obvious priority.