Government spend mony on railways rather than road. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Some members of the public argue that the government should allocate more revenue on building railways. Others believe that it is crucial to invest on highways. I agree with the former as they are safer than vehicles and has a higher carrying capacity.

Firstly, railways are safer. Despite electric trains moving at a supersonic speed, its stability is not questionable in comparison to cars. Consequently, it is always rare to witness railway accidents. Cases of road crush is very rampant globally. For instance, in Tanzania, reported scenarios of road accidents have reduced drastically since the interception of three trains operating from Namanga to Arusha. Although, using roads is more convenient, it is prone to unexpected highway carnages as a result of failure of drivers to adhere to road signs.

Secondly, the carrying capacity outweighs that of small vehicles and trucks. Moreover, ferrying millions of tons of goods and services is made possible by use of railway lines. Additionally, passenger trains are renowned for carrying a vast number of travelers. For instance, approximately 10,000 tourists visiting Mombasa from Nairobi traveled by train. However, for the same objective to be met, the ultimate number of road users will have to escalate. This will have detrimental impact on the atmosphere as carbon emissions will damage the ozone layer resulting in global warming.

To conclude, while some people believe that it is a wise decision for leading agencies to set a side more funding on roads, I believe the most integral part to receive a lions share is the railway sector due to its safety and carrying capacity.