nowadays many people complain that they have difficulties getting enough sleep. what problems can lack of sleep cause? whatcan be done about lack of sleep?

These days, many people suffer from sleep-deprivation. While this can bring both mental and physical health problems, establishing regular sleep schedules and limiting screen time can address the issue effectively.

One primary reason for the lack of sleep is depression among individuals. In fact that just one night of shortened sleep can lead to increased irritability and sensitivity to stress, but the effects become far more pronounced over time. Mood disorders like depression and anxiety have been strongly correlated with sleep deprivation, and while the exact causal links are complex, the association is undeniable. In addition to that, teenagers and young adults often spend a considerable amount of time on platforms such as Tiktok, Instagram, YouTube or other messaging apps. This, when coupled with academic and work obligations, can leave young people with the feelings of inadequacy. As a consequence, people feel their everyday life in a terrible mood.

These effects notwithstanding, this situation far from hopeless. A consistent bedtime and waking time can play a significant role in reversing this negative trend. Creating a pre-sleep routine that minimizes screen exposure and fosters relaxation can also improve sleep quality. Stages, for instance, mindful breathing or progressive muscle relaxation tend to also aid in achieving deeper sleep stages, helping the brain cycle through NREM and REM phases more efficiently. This leads to people more offline rather than glued to their phones.

In conclusion, although this can be attributed to depression and excessive screen time, there are some solutions for this development as such go to bed early or reducing emergencies while sleeping can tackle these concerns.