Government spends much money for education. More money should be spent on free-time activities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe governments’ monetary expenditures on education are enormously high, and they should put and emphasis on free-time activities. I completely disagree with that statement. I will discuss the influence of education on modern world, followed by the analysis of financial support it requires to be maintained.

Education gives a variety of opportunities and advantages for individuals. In addition to broadening the overall perception of the world, it provides supreme employment possibilities. One can not imagine current job application process without providing diplomas of secondary education completion. Educated and professional individuals are generally paid and valued more than average staff members. Moreover, learning process contributes to the economical balance of the region. Studying saves people from the risk of poverty, and educated population increases the numbers of active workforce. Hence, in order to maintain an economical and financial stability, it is necessary for governing structures to keep the education levels high. As an example, majority of population in Somalia lacks basic education, with a scarce number of schools and institutes. Therefore, the poverty rates in that country are among the highest in the world.

Furthermore, unlike leisure-time activities that require little energy and equipment to realize, education is much more demanding in that matter. One only needs a book, a ball or a pack of crayons to fill his or her free time. However, since recruiting and rewarding staff members, supplying necessary durable equipment, and providing convenient facilities is financially exacting, huge amounts of money are expended in that industry. Moreover, with the technological development, outdated methods of teaching are being gradually replaced with newer ones. Administrating bodies spend material resources on updating study materials such as workbooks and curriculum. As an example, in the US, millions of dollars are invested annually on maintaining educational institutes in a viable state, along with interpreting contemporary tools, such as interactive screens and notebooks, to make the learning process efficient for students.

In conclusion, I believe leisure time activities require less energy and finances to grant, so the focus should remain on learning process, since it is utterly necessary for functioning society in many ways.