Government spends much money for education. More money should be spent on free-time activities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Whether the government should allocate more funds to entertainment activities rather than education has sparked debates. While funding for recreational events can strengthen social solidarity, prioritizing education appears promising as well. Both arguments are valid, but I contend that providing education can be more beneficial in the future.

One argument is that funding for recreational events can yield benefits for society. Since people can start interacting with each other more frequently in such events, helping to foster a sense of community. The recreational outlets, such as FIFA or Olympic games, which are usually state-funded, can serve as a pertinent example. In such events, citizens usually rally behind local teams, promoting greater cohesion over time. Nevertheless, it is more reasonable to allocate that money to more beneficial areas rather than momentary entertainment.

A compelling reason why the state should allocate more money to education is the direct long-term consequences. Providing education is one of the primary responsibilities of the government, as it allows for reaching academic achievements in the long run. Moreover, educating the younger generation can bring benefits to the economy, as intelligent students are likely to contribute to economic and innovation developments. A good case in point is Finland, which heavily invests in the education system, with its students reaching the top of academic performance. As a result, government resources are spent properly, focusing more on economic development.

In conclusion, although funding for free-time activities can appear compelling, governments should prioritize education, since it may have a positive impact on the economy in the long-run.