Governments in many countries have recently introduced special taxes on foods and beverages with high levels of sugar. Some think these taxes are a good idea while others disagree.

imposing a higher level of tax on foods and beverages that have too much sugar has become a prevalent approach of the government in a large number of nations. Some individuals believe this approach is beneficial, while others suggest that it would bring about many issues. Although both schools of thought hold merit, I believe that making sugary foods more expensive can be a highly effective solution in handling many public health problems nowadays.

Granted, it is undeniable that increasing taxes for sugary foods and beverages offers various benefits. First and foremost, the products of sugar in daily diet are more likely to be popular and affordable, given that it can increase flavours of the dishes and provide high energy density. Unfortunately, some individuals are able to over-used the sugary products, which have negative impacts on health, including obesity, cardiovascular, and heart problems. Therefore, when the government imposes a higher tax level on sugary products, it would decrease risk of health.

On the other hand, although sugary foods and drinks may impact consumers’ health, they are a vital source of energy for people with lower income levels since they are accessible and affordable to provide some high energy. If the tax of sugary products is higher, they will not have enough money to meet their needed energy requirements.

In conclusion, although there are mixed opinions on determining whether imposing heavier tax on food products that contain high levels of sugar is beneficial, I believe that this approach brings about more advantageous impacts than disadvantages. The reason is to improve the quality of individuals’ well-being in the future.