Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Opinions differ as to whether money ought to be allocated to railways rather than roads by authorities. Even though investing in railroads yields certain benefits, I am wholeheartedly opposed to this suggestion.

Granted, the idea of governments giving priority to alloting to railways results in advantageous outcomes. The first benefit is local economic growth. If the investments of railways are distributed more to atract tourists and visitors, not only service industry but also transport sector will be more likely to earn profits. Another advantage is for the local to travel more easily. Authorities allocating to railroads allow the railway network to expand, diversifying routes and destinations for tourism.

However, it is worth more spending on roads rather than railways. Initially, a greater number of transports are enabled to drive on roads. Compared to railroads which only trains can access, both public transports like buses and personal vehicles such as bikes, motors can run on roads. Last but not least, personal transport vehicles that can solely operated on roads are still predominant in several regions. For instance, in developing countries such as Vietnam or Indonesia, motorbikes and cars are top-tier due to their convenience and privacy.