Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extend do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In our contemporary society, the question of whether the government should allocate financial support to the improvement or construction of railways rather than roads has raised numerous debates among individuals and caused a division of communities into two perspectives. Some individuals believe that it would be undeniably beneficial if authorities spent money on railways while other critics argue that distributing the budget to the improvements of roads can be efficient. I sincerely disagree with the opinion that governments should focus more on the railways than roads as developing the overall infrastructure of roads has more advantages. This essay will delve into this argument and present my opinion in a detailed way.

First of all, the proponents of the argument that utilizing money can bring enormous advantages, believe that the government should eliminate some bad conditions of roads if there is a pressing demand for railways. Without any hesitation, it is true that if the power was allocated to the railways and train stations, this would encourage individuals of lower social status to travel or commute in a cheaper way as expanding the railways enables trains to travel further distances, and it also enhances the speed of trading goods within countries.

However, due to this need, we should not underestimate the necessity of improving badly damaged roads as they are contributing to several serious accidents. According to recent statistics, a vast majority of people suffer from road accidents caused by those roads’ conditions. In order to avoid this, the government should put the roads first before railways on the issues list. By distributing enough money for roads, authorities will be able to not only reduce the accident rate but also improve the infrastructure of the road which can somehow reflect the country’s prestige. Additionally, to my mind, governments should pay careful attention to the improvements of both commuting ways, instead of using all the fixed money on one pathway. If governmental support and local intervention cooperate, such as financial aid from authorities and a labor force from nearby residents, there will be huge improvements in both railways and roads.

To sum up, the debate among societies about whether the power should be directed on railways rather than roads is very complex. While there are some benefits of the creation of railways, the importance of restructuring the roads should be ignored.