Access to clean water is a basic human right. Therefore, every home should have a water supply that is provided free of charge. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Since clean water is a fundamental human need, some contend that water should be at no cost. In my opinion, a water supply should not be free of charge altogether. Instead, the cost of water should be minimized, so that everybody has access to it.

On the one hand, governments a moral and social obligation to supply their zitizens with this basic need. Individuals should have enough water to cover their daily needs such as cooking, driking, and sanitation. If this need not met, it may lead to a deterioration in public health and even the spread of diseases. For example, many countries have already exerpienced such a problem, with the spread of malaria and cholera. Moreover, free water can help to reduce inequality. Low-income households, in particular, often struggle to meet their basic needs. As a result, this can negatively affect the government’s economy.

On the other hand, making all water completely free will lead to excessive consumption and wastse. For governments, it will be extremely difficuly to maintain water infrasturcture, build storage facilites and distribute water nationwide. Thus, free wawter may lead to financial losses. Furthermore, if water is free of charge, people may become less responsible, using water recklessly. As water is a limited resource, this behaviour may take it its toll on a global level.

Everyone needs to drink water regularly, which is why it is necessary to have easy access to water sources. People who have lower incomes and cannot afford expensive products will suffer if water is expensive. However, large companies providing water will incure loss if prices are reduced. Therefore, in my opnion, a balanced approach is needed, which requires the water cost to be both affordable for people and beneficial for water providers.

In conclusion, while I strongly believe that every household should have easy access to safe water, it is essential to introduce a balanced approach with reasonable water pricing. This will ensure that people’s needs are met, while also encourageing conservatoin and revenue generation.