Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extend do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Transportation is one of the leading services that are being lead today. Whether that be privately owned vehicles or methods of public transportation. It is a daily necessity with both travel options having their own independent flaws. A portion of people believe that the government should be spending more money on railways rather than on roads, while others believe that roads should be more prioritised. In my opinion, I believe that the government should focus their money on railways.

To start with, railways can offer a more community-friendly way of transportation. Around the world railway passes are relatively cheap and is open to all social classes. The convenience should also be accounted for, the ever-growing amounts of traffic continue to escalate annually in the same way that population rises. In addition, the ticket fares allow for government funding in roads simultaneously.

Alternatively, improving roads could also come with its own benefits. Road development can allow for much more efficient pathway for drivers ensuring that road blockages due to traffic can be substantially reduced. One development for example, would be to construct a separate road exclusively for four-wheel vehicles in order for the cars to easily move forward without the interference of motorcyclists which have, in the past, caused unprecedented road accidents to occur. The government could also profit from the separate road in the form of entrance fees and invest in other forms of infrastructure.

To summarise, after having explored both points, I disagree with the notion that roads should be given more priority. It’s more efficient to invest or develop the railway system, in the sense that it could potentially steer citizens away from public road vehicles and gradually decrease rates of pollution, further saving government funds.