Health services are a basic necessity. However, private companies have made them quite costly for ordinary individuals. Do the advantages of private health care outweigh its disadvantages?

Nowadays, many people argue about social benefits, how accessible they should be to the population. Therefore, a question arises how advantageous private health care is. As for me, I suppose pros outweigh the cons. So, in this essay I will discuss some reasons why I think so.

At first glance, private health care implies more attention and individual approach to each client. In comparison with a public clinic, private one has significantly fewer number of clients, which makes these companies more patient-centered. For instance, my father tried in vain to determine the cause of his headaches, but the state hospitals didn’t dedicate much time on his particular problem and attributed everything to stress and fatigue. Only having gone to the paid treatment and diagnostic center he was able to reveal that it was nothing but a migraine and find ways to treat it.

The next reason is quicker access to health care and services. As a result of lower demand, private companies provide assistance in a shorter time frame. For example, when I needed a coronavirus certificate before travelling to Turkey in 2022, the public hospitals were full and I had to go to a private service. If this type of facility didn’t exist, I couldn’t have made the necessary document and left the country.

To sum up, I’d like to say that there are a number of disadvantages of private health care such as higher prices and limited range of services. However, opportunities that people get from these institutions take precedence over all drawbacks.