Housing and accommodation has become a major problem in many countries around the world. What are some of the main factors that have contributed to this problem? What can be done to help reduce the number of homeless people?

Getting a good house nowadays is now a primary challenge globally. This could be due to unemployment and the high cost of houses. Creating more jobs and erection of basic housing units by the government would help to curb this issue.

To start with, many people around the globe no longer have a place to live. One of the major causes of this problem is the rate of unemployment in the country. Many youths and some elderly people do not have anything doing. Some who are employed are not paid sufficiently. As a result, they do not have the means to afford good houses. This has caused them to roam the streets and sometimes, sleep under bridges and in gas stations.For instance, in Lagos state, majority of the people who live under the bridges are jobless youths and old people who are frail. Another contributing factor of homelessness is the expensive nature of some apartments. The rents of some buildings are quite high making it out of the reach of the common man. Some people can hardly make a living or afford basic social amenities and so do not have access to this housing spaces.

This issue can be taken care of in a lot of ways. Firstly, if more job opportunities are made available, more people would work and when they get paid, they can foot their accommodation bills. The unemployed can also be supported through entrepreneurship and skill acquisition programs. Secondly, the government can assist by constructing simple structures that are less sophisticated to harbor the less privileged. To illustrate, the government of North Korea adopted an initiative to set up shelters for old widows and children living with disabilities. 3 months after the commission of the shelters, the number of homeless people drastically reduced in the country.

In conclusion, getting an accommodation is now a serious issue in many nations worldwide. Lack of jobs and the high price of houses are some of the main reasons for this. The Government can tackle this issue by making more jobs available and building houses for people who can’t afford them.