Housing and accommodation has become a major problem in many countries around the world. What are some of the main factors that have contributed to this problem? What can be done to help reduce the number of homeless people?

In big cities worldwide, humans have trouble finding a place to live due to various factors. This essay will discuss the main causes which generate this problem and propose some possible solutions.

To begin with, one of the main factors leading poor citizens in struggling to own a house is low income. For the first problem, it is noticed that more than half of the world’s population earns such a small amount of salary, which is not even enough to support the whole family. As a result, accommodation is way too expensive and therefore, unaffordable for them. In addition, high living expenses is another main cause of individual losing their shelter and become unhoused. To be clear, most of the homeless citizens used to have a job, a house or even a car. However, uncontrollable high living expenses made it difficult for them to survive and keep their properties.

Based on the suggested problems, the first possible solution would be government to take actions in setting up a budget housing project. They can build small houses from low-cost materials and sell them cheaper, so poor people can afford to purchase them. For instance, Thailand has several villages constructed by government called “Ban Eur Arthorn”. These houses are 50% less expensive than normal houses owned by private properties. For the latter solution, government can provide jobs and free accommodation for those homeless. They do not need to earn an income, but they should work in order to exchange for food and a comfortable place to live.

To conclude, the major causes that lead to people having no place to live are low wages and high living expenses. There are many ways to solve the problems, such as cheap housing projects, provide jobs and free accommodation to the unsheltered ones, which should be taken seriously by the governments of the countries.