Housing is essential for people. Some argue that the government should offer free housing for people who cannot afford it. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Living in a house is important for people. Some people think that the government should provide subsidised housing for those who cannot afford it. Personally, I support this argument as it is human rights to live in a comfortable environment and it will improve the lives of the poor.

A place to live is one of basic human needs that should be fulfilled. The government is obligated to make sure that all their citizens have their rights to live in a comfortable place to sleep, eat, and interact with their family. By providing housing, the government actually improves their citizens’ lives. They can live in a better environment and do not have to worry of getting illnesses due to bad hygiene in their previous place.

Furthermore, marginalized people should be supported as they might have difficulties to even provide themselves basic needs. In Indonesia, for instance, there is Rumah Dusun or subsidised housing. It is a program by the former president to provide affordable apartments. This type of accommodation is only accessible for families in need of shelter. They now can focus on other aspects of their lives such as earning money or their children’s education. In addition, this program may also reduce the number of homeless in a country if implemented properly. Although it is free, the quality of the house should be monitored and taken seriously as it will raise another issue such as water quality and waste management.

In conclusion, I believe that housing subsidisation by the government brings tons of benefits, namely human rights fulfillment and improvement of the citizens’ lives .