How do movies or television influence people's behaviour? Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

In contemporary society, the omnipresence of films and television programmes in modern media has exerted significant influence over public perspectives. Critics profess that these forms of content negatively impacts the behavior of their audience whereas others defend the position of movies and television as constructive to positive personal development.

On the one hand, the critique that movie and television shows may be undesirable influences is not uncommon in today’s media. To commence with, certain types of films and television enable the promotion of aggression or behavioral issues among audiences, especially the more impressionable proportion such as adolescents. The false glorification or portrayal of violence can desensitize viewers from wrongful acts while indirectly contributing to delinquency. Furthermore, several unrealistic body images and standards depicted in these programmes may instill idealism henceforth having a negative effect on individuals’ behavior.

In contrast, the beneficial characteristics of movies and television are advocated to have a positive influence on the thinking pattern of the masses. First and foremost, films and shows have the ability to educate and inspire virtues and moral values in their audiences. For instance, documentaries promote deeper understanding of social issues and affairs whilst biographical films are a source of motivation for people to pursue their dreams. Additionally, simply the act of watching films exercises empathy and compassion among viewers as they engage with the storylines and characters.

To recapitulate, movies and television shows harbour great influence over the behavior of their audiences in both positive and negative ways. Ultimately, the impact of these media forms relies heavily on the viewer’s discretion and the type of content consumed.