How has technology affected the types of relationships people have? Has this been a positive or negative development?

The impact of technology on human relationships sparks controversies. Some people claim that modern technology leads to the lack of in-person interaction, whereas others believe that it helps people keep in touch. I think that this development has pros and cons.

On one hand, technology is of undeniable benefit to the interconnected world. In earlier times, when relationships were often built face-to-face and there was no invention of the computer or smartphone, it took a long time to receive messages. Thanks to advancements in communication devices, we can have a relationship with new kinds of people, or keep in touch with old friends over long distances. We can now easily, rapidly, and cheaply communicate with people around the world through apps such as Facebook, Zalo, and email. To illustrate, students who live abroad can call their family by using those apps without physically traveling.

On the other hand, many people believe that modern technology exerts a negative effect on the way we communicate. Nowadays, people are addicted to using social networking services more and more; therefore, they ignore others who are physically present and often miss out on what’s happening around them. Besides, making online friends can rise privacy issues. Online friendships can be based on unreliable information, as users can lie and present a dishonest impression of themselves. Thus, sharing vital information on the internet can bring many risks like hacking, identity theft, and scams. For example, many people are cheated out of thousands of dollars due to their trust in online friends.

In conclusion, technology has changed the way people form and maintain relationships, bringing both advantages and challenges. While it has enhanced connectivity and expanded communication circles, it has caused a dearth of in-person interaction and privacy issue

es.