How has technology affected the types of relationships people have? Has this been a positive or negative development?

Communication always had an important role in how people interact with each other, especially across the centuries correlated with human development. In this context, using technological devices affected all types of relationships between people with benefits and drawbacks in the last few decades. This essay will discuss whether this development has been positive or negative and explains why positive affects are more greater.

There are several benefits for maintaining relationships by using electronic devices, especially with family and healthcare. In fact, internet helps interpersonal communication with no cost and real-time. For example, some decades ago, the communication was possible only by face-to-face, after we had a development by writing letters but without able to real-time communication, then we had the advance with telegraphs and telephones with higher prices and without seeing each other. After this, we finally discovered technological devices with internet that make it possible to have a real-time communication without high cost and possibility of seeing each other. In more details, according to Chao Li et al (2022) the number of global internet users in 2022 has increased by 14.16 times in comparison with two decades before because there were 5.47 billion internet users in the whole world out of the 7.93 billion global population. In this aspect, nowadays is possible to maintain contact with family despite living in a different country or time zone. For example, a student who lives in Chicago and his/her parents live in Paris, today is possible to have a meeting everyday by using social media. According to Al-aqab (2025) “these small exchanges might seem insignificant, but over time, they build a sense of togetherness”. In a different view, healthcare system has been changed by using electronic devices, helping people access easily appointments with doctors and therapists. For example, in many countries, is possible to schedule a virtual appointment with a specialist online sooner as face to face. Morris (2020) suggests that “therapists have the opportunity to guide patients as they use apps, wearable and other technologies designed for emotional well-being”.

In another hand, there are some negative affects by using electronic devices for establish a communication in romantic relationship and also friends. Today is very common to see a younger couple having several discussions by jealous and misunderstanding in social media like Instagram, Tiktok and others. About this topic, Al-aqab (2025) claims that social media can create misunderstanding by relying or misreading online behaviour and this can lead to depression, anxiety and emotional impulsivity, resulting in a poor psychological state (Li, C et al, 2020). Another type of negative affect by using electronic devices is correlated with avoiding real life interaction. About this issue, people sometimes have problems to find time to meet a friend during the week and then use only devices to communicate with superficial interactions. To support this idea, Chao Li et al (2022) mentioned that internet usage dramatically increases both the time and frequency of communication with friends but also cause the feeling of isolation.

In conclusion, modern technology has significantly altered the nature of human connections in all kinds of relationships, having pros and cons in many aspects mentioned before. Besides that, the using of technology is more beneficial than harmful for people.