How has technology affected the types of relationships people have? Has this been a positive or negative development?

Technology connects us. We can now meet and maintain relationships with more people than ever. This essay will argue that as relationships have changed, these developments have not always been positive.

There are many benefits of this interconnected world. Prior to the invention of the computer and the smartphone, relationships were built face to face, and maintained by slower or more expensive forms of communication like letters or telephone calls. Technology means we can now have relationships with new kinds of people, or keep old friendships alive over long distances. We can have global networks of friends cheaply and easily, through things like email, Skype, and social media.

However, many believe this change in relationships is a negative phenomenon. ‘FOMO’, which stands for ‘Fear Of Missing Out’, means people are using their devices to communicate more and more, thereby ignoring others who are physically present, and often missing out on what’s happening in the world around them. Some people even claim we are losing the ability to interact face to face, which is incredibly sad. Many people criticize social media and the harmful relationships it creates. Friendships can be based on unreliable information, as users can lie or present a dishonest impression of themselves. The trust which is needed in relationships can also be lost if friends post information or photographs without permission. Even more seriously, users can use social media to abuse relationships, by bullying or harassing others.

Technology certainly dominates relationships. It affects who we meet, how we meet them, and how we maintain the relationship. This has benefits, but we now need to manage it carefully to minimize the risks.