IELTS writing 59 : 38 Read the task WRITING TASK 2 You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Some people argue that all experimentation on animals is bad and should be outlawed. However, others believe that important scientific discoveries can be made from animal experiments. Can experimentation on animals be justified? Are there any alternatives? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words. Write your answer Type your answer here words 0/500

The debate on animal experiments is contentious and elicits strong opinions. While some argue that subjecting the animals to this is bad, others believe that it’s important for scientific discoveries.

To commence with those against animal experimentation, they say it goes against their moral and ethical values. This is because animals are exposed to suffering and most times die. They suggest that just like humans have a right to live. Therefore, taking their lives is inhumane. Moreover, animals are sentient beings. This means, they experience pain, pleasure and suffering. As such should be protected from cruelty and exploitation. Furthermore, humans have an obligation to look after animals since they are more supreme. For these reasons, experimenting with animals is unnecessary and they advocate for alternative methods to be used.

Moving on to those others for the animal experiments, they are necessary for scientific inventions. For instance, through testing out medicines on rats their side effects are noted. Additionally, vaccines are first administered to animals and they are observed. This helps the researchers to analyze the capability of the vaccine to prevent a certain disease. Animal experiments also help to know the effectiveness of dosage administered. This helps in learning how long the medication should be taken. All these experiments are necessary for humans’ safety and survival.

In conclusion, animal experimentation is bad ethically and morally. However, it assists in humans well being during sickness and to prevent ailments.In my opinion, I support animal experimentation. This is because it can reduce the mortality rate in humans. Besides, animals for instance have a high birthrate like a rat delivers up to eight pups. Therefore their population is maintained.