If old people are no longer physically, mentally or financially able to look after themselves, younger family members should be legally responsible for supporting them. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this day and age, young members’s responsibilities toward their older relatives has been a controversial topic among the public for not only odinary people but also authorities. Some individuals desire governments to promulgate an ordinance that the act of young people intentionally neglecting or refusing their responsibility to care for and assist seniors who face physical, mental or financial challenges should be illegal. Personally, I advocate this proposal based on the following reasons.

In fact, we cannot deny that older family members contributed and devoted their energy and lives significantly to younger people and society as a whole. They nutured as well as tended the immature (children, nieces, nephews..) also labouring assiduously to enhance economic growth. Consequently, when ability to take care of themselves is vanished, these people deverse to receive the essential listening, attention and support undertaken by younger individuals thereby safeguarding their well-being. In contrast, if the law is not introduced, the elderly may experience depression, be isolated even abandoned by their families leading to loneliness or homelessness together with a high risk of being robbed and abused.

Futhermore, implementing legislation that obligates young people to have moral obligation in taking care of old people can promote to the development of a kind-hearted society which is rich in love and compassion. Indeed, family bonds are built and consolidated on empathy, care and mutual support. Therefore, this policy might foster a world where older adults are welcomed, respected and protected also ensuring the welfare of these people. Through this, the aged can integrate into society. Moreover, mandating younger family members to aid the elderly relatives in times of need brings the opportunity to express youngster’s genuine filial piety and affection while bridging the generation gap.

In conclusion, I firmly assume that a law requiring the care of younger citizen to seniors in their families is practical. Such laws can assure the well-being and dignity of the elderly individuals by promoting intergenerational responsibility and care.