If old people are no longer physically, mentally or financially able to look after themselves, younger family members should be legally responsible for supporting them. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is evident that younger individuals have legal obligations in caring for their elderly relatives, who do not have the capacity to care for themselves. From a personal perspective, this proposition is to be welcomed, and it is strongly believed that legal obligations should be imposed to ensure the well-being of the elderly.

Firstly, it can be argued that younger family members possess an inherent moral obligation to assume legal responsibility for the care and support of their elderly relatives. This is due to the fact that parents have devoted their time to raising their children, and therefore, when they become older, they can rely on their children. Furthermore, this responsibility is grounded in the familiar bonds of love, care and support. This helps to protect the welfare of the elderly, and society as a whole will benefit from this. Additionally, younger family members possess the practical advantages that come with their status. This is due to the fact that younger individuals are often in better physical and mental health, which provides significant physical assistance and emotional support for their elderly relatives.Furthermore, young family members have a more stable financial situation, which means they can bear the financial burdens of housing, food, and so on for their elderly relatives.Consequently, the elderly will no longer suffer from a lack of basic needs, leading to a more fulfilling remaining life.

In conclusion,younger individuals should have moral obligation in taking care of old people who can not care themselves because younger family members have the practical benefits to support them.In my opinion , younger family members firmly should be held legally accountable for essential needs of old people in their family