If people go to live in another country, they should follow the local customs and traditions. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a view that when people migrate to another country, they have to reshape their cultural values. While it can help migrants seamlessly blend with locals, the perspective overlooks the importance of long-standing beliefs and cultural diversity.

One major motive behind cultural conformity is to show appreciation to the host country. A migrant is often provided with a range of opportunities and resources, from employment prospects and educational facilities to residential space. From this perspective, it would reasonable for immigrants to embrace foreign culture and integrate into a new society. The US serves as a real-life example, where migrants adapt American culture as an act of reciprocity, which facilitates social cohesion in the country.

Nevertheless, expecting foreign people to abandon their centuries-old beliefs is neither realistic nor desirable. Some traditions and customs are passed down from one generation to the next, ensuring the prosperity and continuity of a culture. Uzbek people, for instance, preserve their deeply ingrained national identity and spiritual beliefs regardless of the country of residence. This strong sense of patriotism in turn prevents cultural erosion.

Beyond these concerns, conforming to foreign customs and traditions may gradually blur the boundaries between countries. While respecting the culture of a host country is essential, blindly adhering to them can lead to a loss of cultural diversity. A country of residence should not dilute unique differences in language, festivals and cuisines. Ideally, both local people and migrants can coexist in one nation without compromising each other’s social values. Take Japan, a cosmopolitan country, as a pertinent example, where people thrive regardless of their country of origin and cultural backgrounds.

In conclusion, although conforming to foreign culture is viewed as a sign of respect, it can gradually deprive people of their national identity. Even worse, appreciation may translate into loss of distinct values, ideas and experiences in the long run.