If people go to live in another country, they should follow the local customs and traditions. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

This era of globalizing the world witnessed a trend of settling down abroad. As a result, people argue whether this is best to follow the local customs and traditions. In my opinion, I sincerely side with the idea that newcomers should embrace the host country’s social norms as well as preserving their foreign cultural practices.

On the one hand, abiding by the new land’s rituals can foster a sense of obedience which leads the newcomers to show mutual respect to the natives and vice versa. Migration itself already involves many new things to do such as learning a new language and understanding the local norms that seem inevitable but if a person manages take care of them just fine, he can not only demonstrate a sense of acceptance and willingness to blend in the settled country but also excluding the risk of getting in conflict for being the odd-one-out. In other words, immigrants can create a harmonious coexistence among people and a stiffer community given that they passionately engage in local traditions.

On the other hand, presenting one’s original perspectives and practices is no less important in fostering mutual respect and communicative interaction while it holds great merits in enriching societies. First and foremost, the act of such can remind the newcomers of the love for their former native practices and it also secures their cultural identities. In societies’ field, since cultural diversity is vital in flourishing local traditions, it is crucial for them to openly encourage and welcome diverse background. One supporting example for this is those Chinatowns in Europe and America that fuse elements from a variety of traditions, which can promote a perception of belonging for the Chinese and appreciation for the host residents.

In conclusion, I believe the trendy relocation to another country aligns with an acknowledgement of how essential following the local customs and traditions is for immigrants, however, it is just equally important for them to celebrate their original rituals in order to construct strong communities and an integrative globe. This balanced approach can break the cultural boundaries among different groups made by consanguinity.