Some people think that having a set retirement age (e.g. 65 years) for everybody, regardless of occupation, is unfair. They believe that certain workers deserve to retire and receive a pension at an earlier age. Do you agree or disagree? Which types of workers do you think should benefit from early retirement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The topic of employment is endless and has a lot of issues that people constantely reflex on. In this essay, I would like to raise the problem of a set age of retirement, and discuss why some people should receive a pension at an earlier age.

Initially, the retirement age for most of the countries is 65 years, besides, some nations have this number fixed for every single citizen, if they are able to work. China is one of the examples, due to aging population and a large age gap, the government just cannot affort to take care of all elderly people, so the retirement pays are extremely low. Another ex-communist country, USSR, had same rules, but the reasons were different: once you can work, you should work to provide for the county, nonetheless, the pension was good and sufficticated to live on it.

However, there are professions that require extreme physical strenght, dangerous working conditions, working with harmful materials or that are life-freataning. Miner workers, for instance, not only do they hard labour transporting the coal, but they are under constant threat of death, as the mines can collapse any time if something goes wrong. Some of the men working there have no chances to see their families for weeks or months. Most of the goverments agree to give special conditions that help this people to recover, as well as retire earlier.

I firmly believe that it is a totally fair gesture to do. People work hard on physically demanding jobs, secrifise their lifes on it, and the society should treat them back with due respect.