While technology helps people communicate more easily, it may reduce face-to-face communication skills. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent decades, smartphones, social media, and messaging apps have fundamentally changed the way people communicate with each other. Many individuals now rely almost entirely on technology to keep in touch with friends and family. Although there are valid concerns, I am convinced that the benefits of this trend- such as overcoming distance and providing instant support- outweigh its drawbacks.

On the one hand, there are several disadvantages of online interaction. First and foremost, it leads to superficial connection between individuals. When we are messaging or talking through phones, it cannot give the whole meaning as we wanted. A “like” on a photo or a quick birthday text on Facebook is far less meaningful than an in-person visit. Secondly, over-reliance on screen can weaken face-to-face social skills. Younger generations, in particular, may feel intense anxiety ordering the coffee or making phone calls, mainly because they are so used to texting and using apps.

Despite these disadvantages, I firmly believe that advantages that come from online communication outweigh these drawbacks. With the help of technology, students not only use it for educational purposes, but it also helps them to stay in contact with their friends and family. For many international students, it is really hard to stay away from their loved ones. However, video calls from Zoom and other types of apps allow them to see facial expression and body language, making the interaction much richer and a letter. Furthermore, technology gives a chance to people, who are disabled, to enable them to communicate with relatives without leaving the home or spending a big amount of money to visit there. In an emergency, they can feasibly call their children for help or other serious situations.

In conclusion, albeit having some disadvantages including surface-level communication and diminishing of real-world interaction, I strongly believe that advantages of online communication-such as delivering immediate help and connecting across borders- outweigh these disadvantages.